Office and Administration (International Exchange Center)
Monday to Friday: 9:00 - 17:00
*Closed on Saturdays, Sundays, and Japanese national holidays.

Request Information University of NIIGATA

Overseas Affiliated Schools


Saint Mary's University

Established in 1802, Saint Mary’s University is one of the oldest universities in Canada. It is a modern and lively medium-sized university and consistently ranks in the top ten of Canadian universities. It has a Faculty of Arts, School of Business and Faculty of Science. Overseas students make up approximately one-quarter of the student body, making it a multicultural school with students from about 75 countries. A full range of student support services are also available. The campus has a friendly and comfortable atmosphere.

University of Ottawa

The University of Ottawa is a university with a long tradition, and is accredited as the premier institution in Canada for language education. It is ranked in the top ten of Canadian universities and has 40,000 students enrolled. There are 300 undergraduate programs and 150 graduate school programs available. The university is a center of learning situated in the heart of downtown Ottawa.

United States of America

Kapi’olani Community College, University of Hawaii

Situated on a large campus at the foot of Diamond Head, Kapi’olani Community College is a state-run institution that is part of the community college system of the University of Hawaii (equivalent to a junior college in Japan). It offers a variety of specialist programs in various areas, including liberal arts, business, medical care and law. More than 9,000 students are enrolled and the proportion of overseas students is 5.5%.

Honolulu Community College, University of Hawaii

Honolulu Community College was established in 1920 as the Territorial Trade School in Palama. Thereafter the school went through various changes, before being accredited in 1966 with the name it bears today. As one of seven schools comprising the University of Hawaii Community College System, Honolulu Community College experienced rapid growth between 1966 and 1976 and has evolved into a fully comprehensive community college. It is situated in the heart of Honolulu, a convenient location for both study and everyday life. The college has approximately 6,200 students (including non-regular students) and the proportion of students is approximately 40% from Asia, 30% from Hawaii and 30% from other places.


Heilongjiang University


1Starting out in 1946 as the Harbin Foreign Language School, Heilongjiang University was established in 1958 and has developed to become one of the foremost universities in Heilongjiang Province. In 2011 there were 786 overseas students enrolled, of whom 33 were Japanese.
Since the conclusion of a friendship agreement between Heilongjiang Province and Niigata Prefecture in 1983 many Chinese students have visited Niigata Prefecture, including those on prefectural-funded study. The city of Harbin where the university is located is cool in the summer and is famous for its winter ice festival. It is a Mandarin-speaking region.

University of International Business and Economics

The University of International Business and Economics (UIBE) is located in the Chinese capital, Beijing. It was established in 1951 as the Beijing Foreign Trade Institute. In June 2000 UIBE merged with the China Institute of Finance and Banking, which was under the direct jurisdiction of the People’s Bank of China (China’s central bank), to become the institution it is today. It is a multi-disciplinary university boasting the highest standards in China in courses relating to the economy, finance, management and law, as well as scientific research. UIBE currently has more than 30 schools, master and doctoral programs, in a variety of specialties, including economy, trade, finance, corporate management, law, languages and information management. UIBE’s master programs in international trade, international economic law, English and international corporate management are designated under the national government’s “Project 211” as priority programs. The university has exchange agreements with many institutions in Europe, North America and Asia. There are approximately 15,000 students and approximately 3,000 overseas undergraduate students.

Hong Kong

Hang Seng Management College

Established in 1980 as Hang Seng Commerce College, the college was reorganized and renamed to take its current form in 2010. The college comprises five schools: Business, Communication, Decision Sciences, Humanities and Social Science, and Translation. It is located on a spacious, modern and green campus, where many overseas students study together with Hong Kong students. The college has exchange agreements with many institutions in Europe, North America and Asia. There are approximately 5,000 students.


Hankuk University of Foreign Studies


Hankuk University of Foreign Studies was established in 1954. It was the first university in Korea to establish a Japanese language course and currently runs courses in more than 30 global languages. In addition there are both humanities-based faculties, including law and international studies, and science-based faculties, including natural sciences, engineering and medical sciences. In 2013 there were 1,264 overseas students enrolled, of whom 133 were Japanese.

Cyber Hankuk University of Foreign Studies

사이버 한국 외국어 대학교


Bogor Agricultural University

Bogor Agricultural University was founded in 1903 as the Landbouw Hogeschool (Agricultural Institute) by Melchior Treub, the director of Bogor Botanical Gardens, when Indonesia was still the Dutch East Indies. After the declaration of independence (1946) the institute became the Faculty of Agricultural Sciences and College of Veterinary Medicine of the University of Indonesia. In 1963 the university gained status as a university in its own right, with the establishment of the faculties of Agriculture, Forestry, Veterinary Medicine, Animal Science and Fisheries and Marine Science. Thereafter the faculties of Agricultural Engineering and Technology and Mathematics and Natural Science were added. There are approximately 25,000 students.


Pacific National University

Тихоокеанский государственный университет

Pacific National University is the largest university in the far eastern region of Russia, with 11 schools/departments and more than 21,000 students enrolled. There are many overseas students and the teaching of Russian as a foreign language is well-developed with a large number of staff and a broad curriculum. Khabarovsk and Niigata are sister cities with a history of exchange dating back almost 50 years. Khabarovsk is a comfortable place to live, with a picturesque European cityscape and a relaxed atmosphere.